Athletics: Athletic Department Records

We're happy to help! Contact reference at:

• Email: bentley.ref@umich.edu 
• Phone: 734-764-3482 ext. 2

Or using the button below.

If you want to request books, maps, and other publications, use the catalog. Archival collections are briefly described here, but most of them must be requested from the finding aids.

If you want to request specific folders from a collection, search here. Finding aids describe how archival collections are organized and how they were created in greater detail.

Athletic Department (University of Michigan) records

• The Athletic Department records is the largest collection of athletics-related material at the Bentley. Photographs, box scores, programs, press releases, and some game films are all included.
• The largest series is the Sports Information Office series. This is where most photographs, box scores, programs, media guides, and other material about individual sports are located. The Sports Information Office series is arranged by sport.
• There are also department-level material, such as the Development Office series, and the Athletic Director's Office series.
• This collection may be useful to those searching for photographs that are not in the image bank, athletics publications, or roster and box score information.

Athletic Department (University of Michigan) Individual Files

• The Athletic Department Individual Files contains materials on individual athletes and coaches at Michigan. There are three series — Coaches, Men, and Women — and each series is organized alphabetically by the individual's last name.
• The types of materials contained in each athlete or coach's folder widely vary; almost all contain press clippings about the person's athletic career at Michigan, with some containing papers they generated while student athletes, photographs, information about their professional careers, and other material.
• This collection may be useful to those searching for records of an individual athlete, or a coach who does not have their own collection.

Board in Control of Intercollegiate Athletics (University of Michigan) records

• The Board in Control of Intercollegiate Athletics was the governing body for athletics at the University from 1893 to 1997.
• The Board in Control collection contains a wide variety of material, including minutes for Board in Control meetings, personal correspondence from Athletic Directors and select coaches between 1896 and 1955, topical files, and other material.
• This collection may be useful for those researching the business of Michigan athletics and the day-to-day operation of the Department, especially in it's early years.